About the Diocese

The Diocese of Fargo was established in 1889 and comprises 30 counties over 35,786 square miles in eastern North Dakota. It has a Catholic population of 70,000 people out of a total population of 408,101 (17.5%). There are 131 priests (including active, retired and those serving outside the diocesan area), 46 permanent deacons, 89 religious sisters and 131 parishes in the diocese. (The Official Catholic Directory 2017).

Are you traveling and looking for Mass times in a community you’ll be visiting? Our parish directory will help you find what you need.

Would you like to contact a priest or deacon? The priest/deacon directory includes the parishes where they serve and other helpful information. If a priest or deacon is not listed, contact the Vicar General’s office at (701) 356-7945.

Are you wondering which of the diocesan staff members can assist you with a question? Our diocesan personnel directory is the place to look. For general information, call our reception desk at (701) 356-7900.

It you want to know more about the Catholic Church in eastern North Dakota, check out a brief history of the Diocese of Fargo.